Ted Hughes

Ted Hughes


Ted Hughes, Poet Laureate, was one of the greatest writers of the twentieth century. He was one of Britain's most important poets, his work infused with myth; a love of nature, conservation, and ecology; of fishing and beasts in brooding landscapes.

With an equal gift for poetry and prose, and with a soul as capacious as any poet in history, he was also a prolific children's writer and has been hailed as the greatest English letter-writer since John Keats. His magnetic personality and insatiable appetite for friendship, love, and life also attracted more scandal than any poet since Lord Byron. His lifelong quest to come to terms with the suicide of his first wife, Sylvia Plath, is the saddest and most infamous moment in the public history of modern poetry.

Hughes left behind a more complete archive of notes and journals than any other major poet, including thousands of pages of drafts, unpublished poems, and memorandum books that make up an almost complete record of Hughes's inner life, which he preserved for posterity. Renowned scholar Jonathan Bate has spent five years in the Hughes archives, unearthing a wealth of new material. His book offers, for the first time, the full story of Hughes's life as it was lived, remembered, and reshaped in his art. It is a book that honors, though not uncritically, Hughes's poetry and the art of life-writing, approached by his biographer with an honesty answerable to Hughes's own.

Quién oyó esto, también escuchó:


  • 001_Ted Hughes_introharper
    Duración: 09s
  • 002_Ted Hughes_Prologue
    Duración: 01h57s
  • 003_Ted Hughes_Chapter_01
    Duración: 37min
  • 004_Ted Hughes_Chapter_02
    Duración: 26min
  • 005_Ted Hughes_Chapter_03
    Duración: 39min
  • 006_Ted Hughes_Chapter_04
    Duración: 19min
  • 007_Ted Hughes_Chapter_05
    Duración: 34min
  • 008_Ted Hughes_Chapter_06
    Duración: 38min
  • 009_Ted Hughes_Chapter_07
    Duración: 26min
  • 010_Ted Hughes_Chapter_08
    Duración: 28min
  • 011_Ted Hughes_Chapter_09
    Duración: 38min
  • 012_Ted Hughes_Chapter_10
    Duración: 01h16min
  • 013_Ted Hughes_Chapter_11
    Duración: 49min
  • 014_Ted Hughes_Chapter_12
    Duración: 49min
  • 015_Ted Hughes_Chapter_13
    Duración: 01h06min
  • 016_Ted Hughes_Chapter_14
    Duración: 01h03min
  • 017_Ted Hughes_Chapter_15
    Duración: 01h03min
  • 018_Ted Hughes_Chapter_16
    Duración: 53min
  • 019_Ted Hughes_Chapter_17
    Duración: 34min
  • 020_Ted Hughes_Chapter_18
    Duración: 56min
  • 021_Ted Hughes_Chapter_19
    Duración: 36min
  • 022_Ted Hughes_Chapter_20
    Duración: 36min
  • 023_Ted Hughes_Chapter_21
    Duración: 37min
  • 024_Ted Hughes_Chapter_22
    Duración: 54min
  • 025_Ted Hughes_Chapter_23
    Duración: 46min
  • 026_Ted Hughes_Chapter_24
    Duración: 37min
  • 027_Ted Hughes_Chapter_25
    Duración: 48min
  • 028_Ted Hughes_Chapter_26
    Duración: 44min
  • 029_Ted Hughes_Chapter_27
    Duración: 22min
  • 030_Ted Hughes_Chapter_28
    Duración: 51min
  • 031_Ted Hughes_Chapter_29
    Duración: 01h16min
  • 032_Ted Hughes_Chapter_30
    Duración: 01h05min
  • 033_Ted Hughes_Chapter_31
    Duración: 36min
  • 034_Ted Hughes_Epilogue
    Duración: 01h14min
  • 035_Ted Hughes_outroharper
    Duración: 37s
  • sample
    Duración: 01min